Building a cold smoker

My newly completed cold smoker

My newly completed cold smoker

I was off work last week and as I was browsing an American BBQ forum I spotted a thread which was a load of photos of home made cold smokers, all different shapes and sizes. “I could do with one of those”, I thought. So off I went to the DIY shop, and bought a load of wood, screws, louvre vents, etc, and started sawing and screwing bits together.

I’ve never really done any woodworking before so there was some serious head-scratching and tea-drinking going on 🙂 I’m really pleased with how it’s turned out, especially the rounded corners on the doors and roof (that was a little nerve-racking cutting those out!) I just need to treat the plywood somehow now so that it doesn’t disintegrate in the beautiful British summer weather!

As luck would have it, I had a piece of maple-cured bacon (already with pellicle!) just begging for some applewood smoke, so I set it on the smoker whilst I went to a friend’s hog-roast (I know, poor me). It works really well. I got  a much better smoke on this in 6 hours than I ever did by using the old BBQ.

Anyway here’s some photos of the build…

EDIT: and here it is after 3 coats of wood stain:

Cold smoker with third coat of wood stain

Cold smoker with third coat of wood stain, and er, the handles on correctly.

Leave a Reply

